You are probably wondering what is this cake thing so let me tell you. Each of us has a gift, we are the only ones with this gift and this is what we do best. Our gift is what we are here for. One is a great musician, one is a great artist, one is a great listener, and another is a great speaker. Our gift is our “cake”.

BUT, sometime we don’t think we should let anyone know what our gift is because we are afraid: we are afraid of what they would think of us. Are they going to think I am not good enough? Will they think I am talking nonsense? Do they like me? I am sure you can relate to some of these feelings and I know you can trace back your gift.

“You only lose energy when life becomes dull in your mind. Your mind gets
bored and therefore tired of doing nothing. Get interested in something! Get
absolutely enthralled in something! Get out of yourself! Be somebody! Do
something! The more you lose yourself in something bigger than yourself, the
more energy you will have.
(Norman Vincent Peale, 1898-1993 Pastor Speaker and author)

So, going back to the cake – when you bake a cake you offer it, you ask people “would you like a piece?”; you do not open their mouth and stuff it into their mouth and say ” EAT!”, you let them choose if they like the cake, if they want to try a piece, and you are very happy when they eat and enjoy the cake.

Same goes with our gift. Our job is to offer it to others and let them choose. Your job is to be happy to just offer your cake, and know that you are serving yourself by doing so. You can not control if others will try it (which you are almost screaming to them: “eat it!”), maybe they will, maybe they won’t, BUT this is not up to you.

What is actually happening is that many a time we are connecting our self esteem to what others are doing with what we offer. This is the biggest pitfall, and often we are falling into it. I am learning again and again, that by holding back and not offering my cake, I am blocking my gift, I am not offering it to the universe, and thus, I am not living fully.

My purpose in life is to wake you up! To help you find your gift within yourself, what are you better at than any one else, what comes in ease, what is there that you feel is the best of you? And no, it doesn’t have to be your day-job, but if it is, you are truly blessed. Offer your cake, offer your gift, share it with the world so everybody can enjoy!

